The next level up: fresh strawberry Greek yoghurt cake :)

If the picture above doesn’t make you salivate, then I don’t know what will! While I used to love those light, fluffy sponge cakes slathered with just-as-light cream (you know, the cheaper standard birthday cake kinds), I’ve since grown to dislike them in favour of denser cakes. Think chocolate mousse or New York cheesecake – sadly, they’re so much more expensive and so much smaller for the same weight because they’re so dense 😦

In any case, this cake absolutely appeals to me for that reason – it looks so, so dense and it contains yoghurt! Seriously, yoghurt in a cake! How genius is that?! (As genius as Dairy Farmers’ apple pie or banana caramel pie flavoured yoghurt!!!) This is definitely going to be the first cake I try out when I feel that I’m ready enough to upgrade my baking to the next level. Right now, I think I’m better off baking cupcakes and little treats first, haha!

This was another recipe I sourced off foodbuzz, from this lovely blog ahealthyjalapeno, which is wonderful if you’re looking for healthy recipes without sacrificing awesome flavour. Great plus point for a Greek yoghurt cake, hehe.

Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake
Serves 12 servings

Ingredients
– 1 1/3 cups cornmeal
– 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 3/4 cup unsalted organic butter
– 1 1/4 cups raw sugar
– 3 tbsp lemon juice, divided
– Zest of 1 lemon
– 4 eggs
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 cup plain low-fat greek yogurt
– 1 cup strawberries (sliced fresh)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9 inch round cake pan.

2. Sift together the cornmeal, flour, salt and baking powder. Mix in the lemon zest and set aside.

3. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.

4. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, and lemon juice until all incorporated, then stir in the vanilla.

5. Add the dry ingredients alternately with the yogurt, stirring after each addition.

6. Finally, fold in the strawberries. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.

7. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick or knife inserted, comes out clean. Cool cake in the pan on a wire rack for 30 minutes then invert onto a serving plate. Serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

PS: I don’t suppose this spamming of recipes will stop soon, unless I suddenly lose motivation to organise all my bookmarked recipes… but my obsession on keeping everything organised nicely in one place is motivation enough! 😛

Leave a Reply

